Manorburn win Nicolson Trophy

Manorburn won the 2009 Nicolson Trophy for the Idaburn Council at Alexandra last Thursday 2 July. Their win was by the narrowest of margins though when the four competing clubs all won two games each.

Two clubs from Naseby Curling Council and two from the Idaburn Council contest this event every year, with each club providing two teams. Manorburn and Dunstan Creek represented Idaburn while Otago Central and Garibaldi carried the hopes of Naseby.

After each club won two and lost two of their games, a countback of points won still could not separate Manorburn and Otago Central. A further countback of points against was necessary to find a winner.

The playing conditions for the event were "interesting" – fine in the morning with keen ice and fine initially in the afternoon with the ice becoming even keener, but the last three or so ends were played in snow!! It was falling and settling on the ice which in turn changed the playing surface conditions – one of the variables when playing on outdoor ice.


Find us on Facebook
Follow us on twitter

Funding Support

four winds

Performance Brush Co

The Trusts Community Foundation

Lion Foundation

NZ Community Trust

Pub Charity

Otago Community Trust

foundation north logo

Auckland Council

Sport New Zealand

Website support

NZ Curling is grateful to 4success
for their website support

NZ Curling thanks 4success for generous support with website development
Professional Website
Design and Development