EGGS, Massey Win 2008 Auckland School Titles

17 Sep 2008 – The Auckland Secondary School curling championships wound up on Thursday evening 11 September. Lisa Ku's Epsom Girls Grammar team had a convincing win in the Girls Final and the Massey High School team of Keswick Pearson took out the Boys title.

Girls Final

Lisa Ku and her team of Courtenay Kay, Monica Stone, and Vanessa Bradley won the Girls crown with a 9 - 0 win over Baradene College's Lee-ande Hill, Florence Ng, Marilyn Tan and Katherine Yip. Epsom started well with a 3 in the first end. Baradene looked to be coming back in the second with 3 stones in the house but a fine shot by Ku and a miss by Hill saw Epsom steal 1 to be 4 nil up. That was the story of the game which was closer than the the scoreline indicated. Ku adds the title to her North Island title won last year and becomes the first EGGS team to take the Auckland title.

In the playoff for 3rd the Epsom team of Chelsea Farley, Thivya Jeyaranjan and Tessa Farely defeated Birkenhead Colleges team of Paula Tutunoa, Yun Sun Yim, Sala Laututu and Bianca Fisher 6 - 2. Birkenhead scored 1 in the first end and Epsom replied with 1 in the 2nd and then a steal of 1 in the 3rd. Birkenhead took another point in the 4th to be tied up at the half way stage. However Epsom managed to steal the last 2 ends and comfortably win.

Boys Championship

Massey High's team of Keswick Pearson, Will Armitage, Sam Brady and Brad Pearse won the Boys competition winning 7 of their 8 games. In the match to determine 2nd and 3rd the Kelston Boys High team of Kieran Ford, Brett Sargon, Reagan Lupi and Arnold Mataika defeated Birkenhead College's Yuki Mori, Tom Tseng and Hayden Patel 4 - 3 in a match which came down to the last stone. Kelston scored 2 in the 1st end and then Birkenhead took singles in the next 3 ends to be one up. Kelston took a single in the 5th end to tie the game with only 1 end to play having taken too long on decisions throughout the game. With his last stone Ford drew the house to outcount a Birkenhead stone. Mori chose an upweight takeout and missed giving Kelston the win.

Next on the secondary school curling calendar are the North Island Secondary Schools championships which will be held on Saturday and Sunday 4th & 5th October at Pardice Skating Rink in Avondale, Auckland and then the New Zealand Secondary School championships which will be held in Naseby, Central Otago on 9th, 10th, and 11th October.