NZ Secondary School Championships 2020

Click to watch highlights on Sky Sport Next's YouTube channel

1 Oct 2020 – Eleven teams contested the NZ Secondary School Curling Championships during the first three days of the September break at MCI Naseby.

The Girls' competition was a double round-robin topped by Otago Girls High School and Maniototo Area Schools. Both times dropped just one of their preliminary games, winning one and losing one of their meetings against the other.

They both won their respective semi-finals to set up a decider again in the final, and it was the Otago Girls combination of Rachael Pitts, Ailie Muldrew, Ella Williams, Emma Campbell and Caitlin Elkins who won the title 8-4. Kavanagh College took the bronze medal.

Maniototo Area School #1 were unbeaten through the Boy's single round-robin, and won their way to the final by beating their school's second squad. Long Bay College surprised John McGlashan College with an extra-end win in the other semi-final, but they were unable to pull a second rabbit out of the hat.

Maniototo's William Becker, Sam Flanagan, Peter Cheesmur and Dylan Connell won the final 8-3 to remain undefeated, and Jon McGlashan won the playoff for third.

Only two schools, both from Bayfield High Schools, contested the Mixed title. Bayfield Burlers – Josh Dixon, Owen Newell, Romero Suggate, Willow Stanton and Sofea Haizal – won both meetings and the title from Bayfield Wizards.