Cleansweep win Auckland Final

Cleansweep, Auckland Curling 2014 champions
2014 Auckland champions Cleansweep
Photo: Liz Matthews / Auckland CC

13 Oct 2014 – The Cleansweep side of Chelsea Farley, Thivya Jeyaranjan, Tessa Farley, Ryan Lewis and Eleanor Adviento were rewarded for their consistency when they won the 2014 Auckland Premier League. They beat Liz Matthews' Thistles 7-4 in Sunday's Grand Final.

The result was earned after three top-four finishes for the side in the last 4 years, including topping the preliminary round last year and a runner-up finish in 2010.

It was the best possible end to the domestic season for the Farley sisters, Jeyaranjan and Adviento before they and Waverley Taylor represent their country at next month's Pacific-Asia Curling Championships.

Iain Craig's Ayrshire Rockers headed Ian Ford's Chill Factor 7-5 for third place in the Premier League.

The B Division final was won by Garion Long's Stonehenge, who beat Diamonds 9-1. Have a Sweep beat Curling Me Softly 10-4 for the C Division title, and the D Division final saw Ice 101 record a 6-4 win against Rock Slide.

Chill Factor won the Round Robin Winners' trophy, and Rock Slide's 6-pointer in June earned them the season's Big End Award.

Award Winners

A number of individual awards were presented at the prizegiving, and it was the players who voted Joanna Olszewski as the inaugural winner of Auckland's "Spirit of Curling" sportsmanship trophy.

Iain Craig and Tessa Farley were joint winners of the Coach of the Year award, and Ian Ford was recognised for his Development and Promotion efforts.

The Most Improved Team award was won by Rock Slide, and the corresponding awards for individual Male and Female players went to Matt Hohaia and Joelle Burt. The 2014 novice side Rolling Stones were named the year's Emerging Team.

Find us on Facebook
Follow us on twitter

Entries Open

Come and Try Curling
Auckland, 14 & 21 June