Cleansweep make it three

Cleansweep - 2017 Auckland champions
2017 Auckland Champions Cleansweep. Photo Beth Gibbs

27 Sep 2017 – Cleansweep made it back-to-back titles, and 3 in the last 4 years when they beat Rockers in Auckland Curling's 2017 Premier League final last Sunday.

In the semi-finals a fortnight earlier, Cleansweep had beaten John Allen's Diamonds while Rockers headed round robin winners Stonehenge, skipped by Garion Long.

A succession of single point ends in this week's final was broken with a 3 in the sixth end to Rockers. But Cleansweep (Chelsea Farley, Ryan Lewis, Tessa Farley, Kate Smirnova, Lisa Wu and Marie Tsai) then replied with a decisive 5-pointer, and went on to steal the last to win 9-5.

Stonehenge won the third place playoff 6-3 ahead of Diamonds

Brock Jaeb's 5enders beat Thistles in the B Division final 6-2, Ian Ford's Winging It scored 2 in the last end of the C Division decider to beat Rock Slide 5-4, and the Spare Parts took the D Division 9-6 ahead of Plan B.

Auckland Curling's prizegiving and annual awards followed the final games.

These included

  • the Spirit of Curling award to Holly Gosse
  • the Big End award to 5enders, who scored the first 6-point end of the year
  • the Round Robin Winner's trophy to Stonehenge - Garion Long, Ben Frew, Kieran Grieve and Keith Bond

All Results and Final Standings


Find us on Facebook
Follow us on twitter

Auckland Curling Newsletter

Get the latest news from Auckland Curling delivered to your Inbox - subscribe to our newsletter.

We won't share your email address with anyone.

See latest newsletters – 2018


Auckland Big End Award


 Rock Squad

 Round 6