Congratulations to 2015 NISS champions EGGS Sophie (girls), Birkenhead Blue (boys) and Birkenhead Gold (mixed). Photos: Liz Matthews.

Posted by New Zealand Curling on Saturday, 12 September 2015

2014 NZ Secondary School Championships

30 Sep 2014 – Otago Girls High School and East Otago High School supplied the upset results on home ice to win the Girls' and Boys' finals of the 2014 NZ Secondary School Curling Championships in Dunedin early this week.

OGHS skip Emma Sutherland and her team of Mhairi-Bronté Duncan, Heloise Fitzpatrick, Diana Yeritsyan and Kelsie Mee lined up in the final against Holly Thompson's Maniototo Area School. MAS had recorded one-sided wins against all comers in their round robin games and semi-final.

But it was the Dunedin team who took the early advantage in the gold medal game, covering the pin with their pre-game draw shot and winning the first three ends to put the Maniototo team under unaccustomed pressure, and to take a lead that they did not relinquish. Maniototo replied with a single in the fourth end, but a double to Otago in the next was enough for them to secure their eventual 5-2 win.

6 Sep 2014 – Birkenhead College's Team Haynes and Epsom Girls Grammar School's Team Sophie were the winners of the recent 2014 North Island Secondary Schools Curling Championships at Paradice Avondale.

The Epsom Girls winners Sophie Tran, Claire Crooks, Anna Parsons and Jaden Godfrey won the first four ends of their final against schoolmates EGGS Benedict (Bethany Carter, Hannah Macpherson, Snigdha Saha and Gillean Miller), and were never headed.

2014 South Island School Championships

25 Aug 2014 – Otago Girls High School and Maniototo Area School are the South Island Secondary School Curling Champions teams for 2014.

Simon Neilson, Josh Whyte, Matthew Neilson and Ben Smith – winners of the NZ Under-21 title just a month ago – dominated the Boy's competition, winning all of their games at Dunedin Ice Stadium convincingly last weekend.

The Otago Girls side of Emma Sutherland, Mhairi-Bronté Duncan, Heloise Fitzpatrick and Diana Yeritsyan reversed the result of the 2013 final to beat Maniototo in the gold medal match.

The short novice league for Auckland Secondary Schools will run on Thursday evenings from 20 March until 10 April, and entries must be with Liz Matthews by Friday 14 March.

Please download entry forms here as either a Word Document or an Adobe PDF document.

The main Auckland Secondary Schools competition will run during Terms 2 and 3.

2 Oct 2013 – The Boys' and Girls' titles at the 2013 NZ Secondary Schools Curling Championships were earned by the winners in virtually identical fashion – a game plan that suited the ice conditions from the skips of the Kavanagh College and Epsom Girls Grammar sides, and skilful implementation of each skip's plan from their whole team.

Both skips – Eugenio Molinatti (Kavanagh) and Chloe Li (Epsom Girls) – realised that with less curl in the ice at Paradice Avondale the key to success was controlling the paths in front of the house, as there was no way a stone would curl around a guard and into the scoring zone.

Birkenhead v Maniototo

12 Oct 2012 – Both the Girls and Boy's titles headed north after the 2012 NZ Secondary School Curling Championships, held in Dunedin on 5-7 October, the middle weekend of the school break.

Birkenhead College won six straight games to claim the Girls' Championship.

The Long Bay Boys team also had a perfect record, 8-from-8, to win their competition.

Page 3 of 5