Three-peat for Kavanagh Girls at NZ Schools

Grace Apuwai-Bishop, Kavanagh College
Grace Apuwai-Bishop skipped her Kavanagh College team to its third NZ Secondary Schools title. Photo NZ Curling / Janyne Fletcher

8 Oct 2019 – Kavanagh College won their third consecutive Girls' title at the NZ Secondary School Curling Championships in Naseby last weekend.

Kavanagh and top qualifiers Maniototo Area School had met twice in the preliminary double round robin, securing a win apiece.

As top qualifiers, Maniototo qualified directly to the final. The Kavanagh side first played St Hilda's Collegiate in the sole semi-final, winning 7-2.

Maniototo made a big start in the Championship final, scoring three in the first end. However the Kavanagh side – sisters Grace and Temika Apuwai-Bishop, Lucy Armstrong and Elizabeth Audas – came right back to score five in the second end, followed by two consecutive steals.

From there they maintained control of the game and went on to win the title 9-4.

The Maniototo Boys went though their single round robin undefeated, comfortably heading off all four opponents to take the direct route to the final.

The Boys' semi-final was contested between Long Bay College Black – the sole Auckland side to make the trip south – and Kavanagh College. Long Bay had won the opening round clash between the two sides, but Kavanagh reversed the result in the knockout match.

Kavanagh's emphatic 10-2 win was helped in no small part by a 6-point haul in the second end of the game.

The Maniototo vs Kavanagh final was a very tight affair, with the sides tied coming into the last end. The Maniototo team of Will Becker, Peter Cheesmur, Damian Carson and Ben Voice held last stone advantage, and used it to secure the single point they needed for a 4-3 win.

The Mixed Championship was a best-of-three contest between Bayfield High School and Maniototo Area School.

It was Bayfield's Mya Miller, Karla Rades, George Park, Willow Stanton and Josh Dixon who recorded a clean sweep of all three games to back up their 2018 win in this event. They also claimed the 2019 South Island title earlier this season.



Find us on Facebook
Follow us on twitter

Entries Open

NZ Rep Self-Nomination
Closes Friday 23 April

MCI Doubles
Naseby, 21-23 May

NZ Men's & Women's
Naseby,10-13 June
Entries close Fri 21 May

NZ Mixed Doubles Qualifier
Naseby, 29 July-1 August
Entries close Fri 9 July

NZ Juniors (U21)
Naseby, 3-5 September
Entries close Fri 13 August

NZ Seniors
Dunedin, 10-12 September
Entries close Fri 20 August