2015 Auckland Schools

EGGS Sophie 2015
EGGS Sophie added the Auckland title to their North Island win earlier in the month

25 Sep 2015 – Birkenhead College, Epsom Girls Grammar and Lynfield College took home the major trophies after the final round of the 2015 Auckland Secondary Schools Curling Championshipa at Paradice Avondale last night.

EGGS Sophie and EGGS Benedict were locked at 5-5 going into the last end of the Girls Final. Sophie Tran, Anna Parson, Jaden Godfrey, Claire Crooks and Alyse Johnson handled the pressure to score three and claim the title..

Birkenhead College Black won the Boys title without throwing a stone in the final round.

Eloise Pointon, Kurt Haynes, Hadassah Moreton and Abhishek Rughani had completed their games two weeks before, but found themselves Boys champions after bottom-placed EGGS Katrina stole the last end of their game against Birkenhead Blue to consign the Birkenhead side to the runner-up spot.

Lynfield College were competing in the Auckland Schools competition for the first time, and the Lynfield Green team of Tanmay Arora, Aldi Ting, Esther Tomkinson, Niamh Masterson, Eric Bielby and Tuku Temaro were delighted to secure a first-up success for their school in the Mixed competition.

The Novice Shield for first-time curlers was a popular win for the enthusiastic Papatoetoe High School Boys team of Sharad Singh, Jack Shimmin, Ricardo Guillard and Jarod Greenbury, who surprised Scools convenor Liz Matthews with a hug and a kiss when they came forward to claim their shield.