Otago Girls HS win South Island title in style

10 Sep 2015 – Emma Sutherland played the shot of the weekend with the last stone of the tournament to win the 2015 South Island Secondary Schools Curling Championship for her Otago Girls High School team, with teammates Mhairi-Bronté Duncan, Heloise Fitzpatrick, Diana Yeritsyan and Michelle Bong.

Holly Thompson and her Maniototo Area School side of Jessica Smith, Ashleigh Smith, Tash Whyte and Courtney Smith looked as if they had done enough to avenge their preliminary round loss to the Otago Girls side. As Sutherland came to play her final stone, Maniototo were sitting with a well guarded shot stone that would have broken the 5-5 deadlock, won them the game and the gold medal.

The Otago Girls took their time to find a shot, and decided that the only option open to them was a difficult double-raise, angled tap back of the shot stone. Sutherland executed it perfectly to make the shot and score three for an 8-5 win.

The two St Hildas Collegiate teams contested the Girls' Bronze medal match where Jamie McKenzie's team defeated Sophie Armstrong 8-1.

In the Boys' competition, the Maniototo Area School side of Matthew Neilson, Josh Whyte, Anton Hood and Ben Smith stayed undefeated through the tournament. They won the Gold medal match 10-4 against the Otago Boys team Hamish Walker, Hunter Walker, Luke Holden, Marc Cormack and Ben Sutherland.

Cameron Bartrum's East Otago High School side were too strong for Bailey Dowling's John McGlashan College #1 in the Branze medal game, winning 9-3.