Kavanagh takes NZ Secondary School honours

Girls winners Kavanagh College
Girls winners Kavanagh College L-R: Grace Apuwai-Bishop, Temika Apuwai-Bishop, Elizabeth Audas and Emily Armstrong. Photo Janyne Fletcher

1 Oct 2018 – Kavanagh College took the major honours in last weekend's NZ Secondary Schools Championship, taking home the Girls and Boys trophies.

The Kavanagh Girls side of Grace Apuwai-Bishop, Temika Apuwai-Bishop, Elizabeth Audas and Emily Armstrong-Sagvari were unstoppable on their march to their title.

Remarkably, they did not concede a single point throughout their four pool games. Maniototo Area School came closer than anyone in their semi-final, restricting Kavanagh to a 6-1 margin.

An emphatic 12-1 victory over Otago Girls #1 in the final sealed an outstanding tournament for the Kavanagh Girls.

Otago Girls #2 secured third place with a 7-6 win over Maniototo.

The Boy's title race was much closer. Kavanagh finished second in their pool behind Maniototo 1 after the latter won the round robin encounter 6-1, and Otago Boys topped the other pool ahead of Long Bay.

The Kavanagh Boys' side of Jayden Apuwai-Bishop, Hunter Burke, Nick Parata, Will Campbell, Stephen Xu and Daniel McClymont again trailed Maniototo #1 for most of the final, before stealing the last two ends to win 5-4. Otago Boys took third from Long Bay 13-1.

Bayfield High School were the only entry in the Mixed category, but showed their credentials with a 3-1 win-loss record in non-competition games across the weekend.


All photos © Janyne Fletcher


Find us on Facebook
Follow us on twitter

Funding Support

Auckland Council

Sport New Zealand

Website support

NZ Curling is grateful to 4success
for their website support

NZ Curling thanks 4success for generous support with website development
Professional Website
Design and Development