Kavanagh, Maniototo and Birkenhead top Schools

John McGlashan College
Team John McGlashan College. Photo © Jo Dowling

4 Oct 2017 – All three titles at the 2017 NZ Secondary Schools Curling Championships were decided by single point margins.

John McGlashan College held their nerve to score 3-pointers in the 4th and 5th ends to win the Boys' deciding match against Maniototo Area School 6-5.

Maniototo won the first in the best-of-three series 6-4. John McGlashan took the second 11-3, then conceded an early lead in the decider before storming back to win their school's first national title.

Kavanagh College scored a deuce in the last end of the Girls final to edge Epsom Girls Knock Out 6-5, and Birkenhead College hung on to beat Lynfield College 4-3 in the Mixed title decider.

In the Girls' competition EGGS Knock Out, St Dominics College and Kavanagh all finished their round robin with a 2 win / 1 loss record. Knock Out won their semifinal against their schoolmates EGGS Benedict 6-5 in an extra end, and Kavanagh beat St Dominics 6-2.

The Girls' 3rd/4th playoff was as tight as the final, EGGS Benedict prevailing in an extra end.

The Mixed competition was also a best-of-three series. Birkenhead won the first convincingly and Lynfield the second. Again the decider was a much closer affair, as Lynfield took hammer in the last end needing to score two to force an extra end. Birkenhead restricted them to a single to win the title.


Find us on Facebook
Follow us on twitter

Funding Support

Auckland Council

Sport New Zealand

Website support

NZ Curling is grateful to 4success
for their website support

NZ Curling thanks 4success for generous support with website development
Professional Website
Design and Development