NZ Juniors three-peat for Courtney

Courtney Smith at the 2019 NZ Championships
Courtney Smith at the 2019 NZ Championships. Photo © Janyne Fletcher / NZCA

16 Jul 2020 – Courtney Smith won her third consecutive NZ Championship as skip when she and Zoe Harman, Rachael Pitts and Anna Stuart won their best-of-three series against Grace Apuwai-Bishop's side in Naseby last weekend.

The Smith side won the opening encounter 10-6 on Friday evening. However Grace, with sister Temika, Emily Armstrong and Lucy Neilson were on top in the second game, scoring 3 in the sixth end to seal an emphatic 8-1 reversal.

This result forced a decider at noon on Sunday.

Consecutive steals before the fourth-end break gave Team Smith a 3-1 lead, and 3 points in the sixth end gave them control as they went on to win the game 7-4, and with it the gold medal.

The solitary Men's side of Anton Hood, Will Becker, Ben Smith and Sam Flanagan competed in a double round robin with the two Women's side, winning all four of their matches.

NZ Junior Teams Announcement

Covid-19 caused a delay to NZ Curling's AGM, and this has flowed through to committee appointments which in turn have delayed the selection process for teams.

Last night the NZCA Executive met and appointed Richard Morgan as the new Chairman of Selectors. The Junior (U21) selectors are working with the Chair to ratify the U21 teams for the 2020-21 international season. All candidates will be contacted in due course, and the NZ Junior teams will be announced no later than the weekend of the National Championships, Sunday 2nd August.


Find us on Facebook
Follow us on twitter

Entries Open

NZ Rep Self-Nomination
Closes Friday 23 April

MCI Doubles
Naseby, 21-23 May

NZ Men's & Women's
Naseby,10-13 June
Entries close Fri 21 May

NZ Mixed Doubles Qualifier
Naseby, 29 July-1 August
Entries close Fri 9 July

NZ Juniors (U21)
Naseby, 3-5 September
Entries close Fri 13 August

NZ Seniors
Dunedin, 10-12 September
Entries close Fri 20 August