Teams named for Korea and Finland

Anton Hood
Anton Hood at 2017 Pacific-Asia Championship. Photo © © WCF / Céline Stucki

7 Aug 2018 – The New Zealand Curling selectors have confirmed the teams to compete at November's Pacific-Asia Championships in the Republic of Korea, and January's World Junior B Championships in Finland.

The National Men's team is Scott Becker, Warren Dobson, Anton Hood and Simon Neilson.

The Pacific-Asia Championships 2018 will be held at the same venue that hosted this year's Olympic Curling tournament in Gangneung, Korea.

For the first time in 25 years, no National Women's team has been named.

"Of course, it's disappointing," said Darren Carson, head of the selection panel. "But a combination of family, work, study and personal commitments meant that it was just too difficult to field a competitive Women's side this year."

The National Junior (under-21) sides are:

Women: Jess Smith, Holly Thompson, Courtney Smith, Mhairi-Brontê Duncan, Lucy Neilson
Men: Anton Hood, Ben Smith, Matthew Neilson, Hunter Walker, Jayden Apuwai-Bishop

These teams will play at the World Junior B Championships 2019 in Lohja, Finland in early January. The medallists will then qualify for the main World Junior Championships two months later.

If the Kiwi sides can improve on their results earlier this year they will be delighted.

The Women finished an agonising 4th, beaten by Norway in the bronze medal match. The Men lost their quarter-final to record an equal 5th finish.

Earlier, the selectors confirmed the NZ side for October's World Mixed Championship 2018. Dave Watt, Brittany Taylor, Lorne DePape and Glenys Taylor – winners of the NZ Mixed Championship in June – will fly the country's flag in Kelowna, BC, Canada.