Tenth National title for Sean Becker

Team Sean Becker
Hamish Walker, Sean Becker and Warren Dobson. Photo © NZCA

10 Jul 2018 – Sean Becker won his 10th NZ Men's Championships last weekend as he and his team of Scott Becker, Warren Dobson and Hamish Walker defended their 2017 title with a 7-5 win against Team Peter de Boer in the final.

This milestone achievement was also Scott Becker's 8th win in his brother's team, and the 7th for Warren Dobson.

Bridget Becker is only just behind Sean in the title standings. She clocked up her 9th NZ Women's Championship when she skipped Natalie Thurlow, Abby Pyle and Eloise Pointon to an 8-4 victory over Team Jessica Smith in their final.

Fortunes fluctuated throughout the double round robin for the three women's teams. Team Jessica Smith narrowly lost both of their first two games, and Team Chelsea Farley stole a 6 pointer in the first end of their first match against Bridget Becker.

But the teams all finished the preliminary rounds with a 2-2 win-loss record. A four-player draw to the button was required to rank the sides, and it was Smith and Becker who qualified for the final.

Bridget Becker placed one hand on the trophy with a decisive 3 points in the fourth end of this match, and effectively wrapped it up with steals in the next two ends.

In the Men's tournament, Sean Becker qualified directly to the final with a 5-0 clean sweep of the round robin.

National coach Peter de Boer's foursome lost only to Becker in the round robin, and the team skipped by Brett Sargon (with Anton Hood throwing last stones) qualified in third place for the single 2 vs 3 semi-final.

The semi was a thriller as Hood / Sargon came back from 1-6 behind to force an extra end. It was one end too many for them though, and de Boer scored the single he needed to reach the final with a 7-6 win.

After blanking the first end of the final, Sean Becker held the scoreboard advantage throughout. But Team de Boer hung in well enough to make Becker throw his final stone to secure the title.