Team Watt win NZ Mixed

2018 NZ Mixed Champions
NZ Mixed Champions 2018. Photo © NZCZA / Holly Gosse

6 Jun 2018 – Dave Watt, Brittany Taylor, Lorne DePape and Glenys Taylor won the year's first national title, staying undefeated to claim the 2018 NZ Mixed Curling Championship in Auckland over Queen's Birthday Weekend.

They beat Team Garion Long 11-5 in Monday evening's final to claim the trophy in a convincing display.

Seven teams played in two pools through the qualifying stages.

Team Watt won their three opening games convincingly to qualify top of Pool B, while Garion Long, Rebecca Treacy and Benjamin Frew earned the other semi-final place from the group.

Team Brett Sargon, with Jennifer Jack replacing Eleanor Adviento in the defending champion side, headed the other pool ahead of Kieran Grieve, Liz Matthews (skip) and Keith Bond.

Sargon failed to fire in their semi-final, with Long running away with a one-sided 10-1 victory. Watt trailed early against Matthews, but a double takeout to score 6 in the 4th end helped them to an 11-5 win.

The gold medal match was effectively over once Team Watt led by 10-0 after three ends. Team Matthews won the bronze when Team Sargon defaulted, travel arrangments and injury conspiring to leave them with just 2 players available to take to the ice.

The winners are the frontrunners to be named as the NZ side for October's World Mixed Championship in Kelowna, BC, Canada.