Poolburn win Macrae Throphy

Macrae Trophy finalists 2021
Poolburn and Lauder sides after the final

28 Jun 2021 – After a very full day's curling at Alexandra's IceInLine outdoor rink last week, Poolburn 1 just headed Lauder 1 to win the Idaburn Curling Council's Macrae Trophy for 2021.

Idaburn's clubs had played a round-robin over the previous few weeks, and on Finals day the top eight teams lined up early for the first knockout round on what was an enjoyable day with plenty of banter, refreshments and good ice.

Some very close games saw Alpine 2 beat Rough Ridge 1 by 10-5, Alexandra 2 squeeze past Alpine 1 10-9, Lauder 1 take a 9-8 win over Manorburn 2, and Poolburn 1 edge ahead of Blackstone Hill 7-6.

The four winners from there went forward into the semi-finals, with Poolburn 1 and Lauder 1 coming out on top.

These two sides then played off for the Macrae Final, and it was a close game on an unused Rink 5. After 21 ends and some swapping of the lead, the Macrae Trophy went to Poolburn 1 (15 points), with Lauder 1 (13) getting the runners-up cup. Congratulations to both teams on a great match!

Meanwhile, the Plate competition progressed through quarters and semi-finals to a final, which saw Alpine's two sides facing one another. Alpine 1 (9 points) came out on top over Alpine 2 (3) to take the honours.

Thanks to Bro. Graham Sinnamon for presenting the silverware at the end of play. The Combined Clubs (Manorburn and Alexandra) also offer their thanks to the curlers in the Macrae Trophy matches this season, and for being patient when weather played its part – as it did. Thanks also to IceinLine, Zamboni drivers, and the tucker team for their work behind the scenes.

Nicolson Trophy

Macrae Round Robin Standings
 RR Club  Wins   Points 
1 Alpine 12½ 141
2 Manorburn 10 126
  Poolburn 131
  Alexandra 120
  Gore 93
  Arrowtown 7 113
  Lowburn 103
  Cardrona 6 95
  Chatto Creek 81

The Idaburn Council clubs playing for the Nicolson Trophy next year were determined by the standings after the Macrae Trophy Round Robin.

The top two clubs before last week's finals, Alpine and Manorburn, will represent the Council in the 2022 Nicolson. As wins take precedence over points, Manorburn just pipped Poolburn for second on the ladder.

Thus the Macrae's competition is over for another year. The 2020-2021 Nicolson Trophy, between last year's top sides from the Naseby and Idaburn Councils will run on the 30th June – weather permitting, of course.

Good Curling
Barrie Wills
Manorburn CC