The Bonspiel

The Bonspiel is New Zealand's major tournament in the traditional crampit form of the game. The event is called only when there is sufficient natural ice on an outdoor rink. Oturehua's Idaburn Dam has been the venue since 1932, except for 2015 when the Centennial Ponds in Naseby were used.

Two rinks (teams) from each club play 4 games each over 2 days, with the winning club being the one with most wins from their 8 games. Total points scored is used to separate clubs with the same number of wins.


Winners of the New Zealand Curling Province Bonspiel
 Year Champion Club  Year Champion Club
 1879  Naseby    1941  Naseby
 1884  Otago Central    1942  Rough Ridge
 1889  Otago Central    1943  Ranfurly
 1890  Blackstone Hill    1945  Ranfurly
 1891  Upper Kyeburn    1946  Ranfurly
 1893  Otago Central    1947  Ranfurly
 1894  Mt Ida    1951  Upper Manuherikia
 1895  Otago Central    1952  Becks
 1897  Mt Ida    1953  Becks
 1899  Mt Ida    1954  Upper Manuherikia
 1900  Mt Ida    1955  Cambrian
 1901  Cambrian    1958  Wedderburn
 1902  Otago Central    1959  Blackstone Hill
 1903  Cambrian    1963  Upper Manuherikia
 1906  Cambrian    1966  Blackstone Hill
 1907  Naseby    1968  Poolburn
 1908  Blackstone Hill    1969  Kyeburn
 1909  Blackstone Hill    1971  Otago Central
 1910  Blackstone Hill    1973  Mt Ida
 1911  Blackstone Hill    1975  Kyeburn
 1912  Naseby    1982  Serpentine
 1913  Upper Manuherikia    1986  Ranfurly (centennial) *¹
 1922  Cambrian    1988  Wedderburn
 1923  Cambrian    1991  Mt Ida
 1925  Cambrian    1992  Kiwi
 1930  Cambrian    1995  Serpentine
 1931  Cambrian    2001  Dunedin Country
 1932  Naseby    2007  Rough Ridge
 1933  Blackstone Hill    2010  Alpine
 1934  Mt Ida    2011  Poolburn (125th Jubilee) *²
 1935  Naseby    2012  Poolburn
 1937  Blackstone Hill    2015  Blackstone Hill
 1938  Ranfurly      
 1939  Cambrian      
 *¹  Due to a lack of ice, 1986 was a mini-Bonspiel with each club entering only one team. Although not a Grand Match, the NZCP felt its centennial needed to be celebrated with a Match. The morning conditions at Naseby were suitable, but the ice deteriorated in the afternoon.
 *²  The 125th Jubilee Bonspiel in 2011 was played on artificial ice – 1 outdoor rink (Alexandra) and 3 indoor (Dunedin, Gore, Naseby). Most clubs entered just one team; each team played 7 games. 

Find us on Facebook
Follow us on twitter

Funding Support

four winds

Performance Brush Co

The Trusts Community Foundation

Lion Foundation

NZ Community Trust

Pub Charity

Otago Community Trust

foundation north logo

Auckland Council

Sport New Zealand

Website support

NZ Curling is grateful to 4success
for their website support

NZ Curling thanks 4success for generous support with website development
Professional Website
Design and Development