Alpine win 2010 Macrae Trophy

Alpine's top run of form this season continued today when they won the 2010 Macrae Trophy at Alexandra's Ice-In-Line rink.

The club's Number 2 team beat the other 7 finallists to win the the Idaburn Curling Council's major competition, and so added this trophy to the Snuff Box won earlier in the month when Alpine Curling Club won their first-ever National Bonspiel.

Alpine 2 were the only undefeated team prior to the finals, having recorded 7 wins and a draw to sit at the top of the qualifying points table ahead of 21 other Idaburn Council teams.

They were untroubled to beat Becks 2 and Manorburn 2 in the 10-end quarter-final and seni-final games. Their opponents in the final were Lowburn 2, who recorded narrow wins against Cambrian 1 and Blackstone Hill 1 earlier in the day.

The afternoon's Trophy Final was over 21 ends and resulted in a 20-14 victory to the team from St Bathans. Neighbours Blackstone Hill 1 had a 9-8 win over Gore 1 in the Plate Final.


Find us on Facebook
Follow us on twitter

Funding Support

four winds

Performance Brush Co

The Trusts Community Foundation

Lion Foundation

NZ Community Trust

Pub Charity

Otago Community Trust

foundation north logo

Auckland Council

Sport New Zealand

Website support

NZ Curling is grateful to 4success
for their website support

NZ Curling thanks 4success for generous support with website development
Professional Website
Design and Development