Will Armitage from Massey Frosties showing correct dolphin delivery device technique

9 Dec 2008 – The Long Bay team of Alex Bauer, Greg Prendergast, Nic Lambert and Katie Bauer displayed good teamwork and clinical finishing to win the final of the 2008 Auckland Under-21 Curling Championships.

Both finalists displayed excellent skills and shot-making as Long Bay beat the Oratia team of Aaron Jackson, Dylan Ford and Brittany Taylor 6-3, with every end of the match a close one.

Read more: Long Bay clinch 2008 Auckland U-21 Champs

2008 Curlers with Altitude
Curlers With Altitude 3rd Kieran Ford calls the sweeping for his father Ian and brother Dylan as they sweep skip Kenny Williamson's stone

29 Sep 2008 – In a tight game that went down to the wire, Kenny Williamson's Curlers With Altitude took out the Auckland Curling Club 2008 Grand Final with a 6-5 win over 2007 champions Long Bay Old Boys.

Altitude (Kenny Williamson, Kieran Ford, Dylan Ford, Ian Ford, alternate Arnold Mataika) leapt out of the blocks, taking a well-constructed 3 with the hammer and then a steal to be up 4-0 after two ends. The teams then traded shots for the next three ends so after five ends Altitude were looking comfortable at 5-2, and with time running out the game was down to just two more ends. However Long Bay (Alex Bauer, Greg Prendergast, Nic Lambert, Anne Huddlestone) rallied with a huge steal of 3 to tie it up at 5-5 coming home.

Read more: Curlers With Altitude take 2008 Auckland title

Skips Keswick Pearson and Anthony Brown
Skips Keswick Pearson and Anthony Brown on the 8th end

11 Dec 2007 – The 2007 Auckland Under 21 curling championships concluded with a thrilling final that went right to the wire.

The final between defending champions Long Bay, and 2007 Auckland and North Island School champions Massey Frosties was tied at 6-6 after 8 ends. Frosties took the title by the width of a stone in a tense draw to the button.

Read more: Draw Shot Challenge Decides 2007 Auckland Under-21 Champs

16 Oct 2007   Long Bay Old Boys defeated Kingsland Kougars to win Auckland Premier Curling League Championship Final

Long Bay Old Boys, led by Skip Anthony Brown, have won the 2007 Auckland Premier Curling League Championship with a big 13-6 win over the defending champion Kingsland Kougars, skipped by Doug Horne.

Long Bay (skip Anthony Brown, third Alex Bauer, second Greg Prenergast, lead Nic Lambert) jumped into a big lead, but the Kougars regrouped and were within striking distance with the score 10-6 after 6 ends.

Read more: Auckland Curling Finals 2007
Find us on Facebook
Follow us on twitter

Entries Open

Auckland Club League
30 April - October
Entries close 25 April

Contractors Cup
MCI Naseby, May-July
Entries close 30 April

Auckland Sec Schools
Terms 2 and 3
Entries close Fri 12 May

NZ Mixed Fours
Auckland, 4 - 5 June
Entries now open


WCF Camps & Courses
Various – players, coaches, umpires, ice technician
Europe, June to Aug 2017

Auckland Curling Newsletter

Get the latest news from Auckland Curling delivered to your Inbox - subscribe to our newsletter.

We won't share your email address with anyone.

See latest newsletters – 2017


Funding Support

Performance Brush Co
The Trusts Community Foundation
Lion Foundation
NZ Community Trust
Pub Charity
Otago Community Trust
foundation north logo
Auckland Council
Sport New Zealand

Website support

NZ Curling is grateful to 4success
for their website support

NZ Curling thanks 4success for generous support with website development
Professional Website
Design and Development